Coverart for item
The Resource Black man in a white coat : a doctor's reflections on race and medicine, Damon Tweedy, M.D

Black man in a white coat : a doctor's reflections on race and medicine, Damon Tweedy, M.D

Label
Black man in a white coat : a doctor's reflections on race and medicine
Title
Black man in a white coat
Title remainder
a doctor's reflections on race and medicine
Statement of responsibility
Damon Tweedy, M.D
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"When Damon Tweedy first enters the halls of Duke University Medical School on a full scholarship, he envisions a bright future where his segregated, working class background will become largely irrelevant. Instead, he finds that he has joined a new world where race is front and center. When one of his first professors mistakes him for a maintenance worker, it is a moment that crystallizes the challenges he will face throughout his early career. Making matters worse, in lecture after lecture the common refrain for numerous diseases resounds, "More common in blacks than whites." In riveting, honest prose, Black Man in a White Coat examines the complex ways in which both black doctors and patients must navigate the difficult and often contradictory terrain of race and medicine. As Tweedy transforms from student to practicing physician, he discovers how often race influences his encounters with patients. Through their stories, he illustrates the complex social, cultural, and economic factors at the root of most health problems in the black community. These elements take on greater meaning when Tweedy finds himself diagnosed with a chronic disease far more common among black people. In this powerful, moving, and compassionate book, Tweedy deftly explores the challenges confronting black doctors, and the disproportionate health burdens faced by black patients, ultimately seeking a way forward to better treatment and more compassionate care.- For readers of Atul Gawande, Sandeep Jauhar, Pauline W. Chen, and Henrietta Lacks"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Tweedy, Damon
Dewey number
  • 610.92
  • B
Illustrations
portraits
Index
no index present
LC call number
R154.T84 A3 2015
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Tweedy, Damon
  • African American physicians
  • Physicians (General practice)
  • Discrimination in medical care
Target audience
general
Label
Black man in a white coat : a doctor's reflections on race and medicine, Damon Tweedy, M.D
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bilbiographical references (pages [289]-291)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • The color of HIV/AIDS
  • Part III: Perseverance
  • Matching
  • Doing the right thing
  • Beyond race
  • Notes
  • Selected Bibliography
  • Acknowledgements
  • Part I: Disparities
  • People like us
  • Baby mamas
  • Charity care
  • Inner-city blues
  • Part II: Barriers
  • Confronting hate
  • When doctors discriminate
Control code
ocn886486049
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
294 pages
Isbn
9781250044631
Lccn
2015018599
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
portrait
System control number
(OCoLC)886486049
Label
Black man in a white coat : a doctor's reflections on race and medicine, Damon Tweedy, M.D
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bilbiographical references (pages [289]-291)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • The color of HIV/AIDS
  • Part III: Perseverance
  • Matching
  • Doing the right thing
  • Beyond race
  • Notes
  • Selected Bibliography
  • Acknowledgements
  • Part I: Disparities
  • People like us
  • Baby mamas
  • Charity care
  • Inner-city blues
  • Part II: Barriers
  • Confronting hate
  • When doctors discriminate
Control code
ocn886486049
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
294 pages
Isbn
9781250044631
Lccn
2015018599
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
portrait
System control number
(OCoLC)886486049

Library Locations

    • Academic LibraryBorrow it
      2020 S. Avenue 8E, Yuma, AZ, 85366, US
      32.6910976 -114.6289698
    • Yuma County Main LibraryBorrow it
      2951 S. 21st Dr, Yuma, AZ, 85364, US
      32.7053273 -114.6461849
Processing Feedback ...